Danville Town Council Meeting Minutes December 21, 2009

- I. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Council Vice-President, Marcia Lynch, called meeting of the Danville Town Council to order at 7:00pm on December 21, 2009 in the Danville Town Hall, 147 W Main Street.
- II. <u>ROLL CALL</u>: Vice-President, Marcia Lynch, acknowledged a quorum of the Council and led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag. Clerk-Treasurer noted the following Council members in attendance: Richard Burrows, Mike Neilson, Marcia Lynch, and Steve Hartsock and the following individual absent, Jeff Martin. Clerk-Treasurer noted the following Administrative officials present: Amy Roberts, Clerk Treasurer and Laura Parker, Assistant Town Manager.
- III. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>: Motion was made by Mike Neilson to approve the minutes as read for the Town Council meeting of 12/7/2009, seconded by Dick Burrows. Motion passed 4-0. Mike Neilson made a motion to approve the minutes as read for the Town Council Executive Session and the Town Council Meetings of 12/14/2009, seconded by Steve Hartsock. Motion passed 4-0.

IV. AGENDA ITEMS:

a) <u>Declaratory Resolution for Tax Abatement – 52 E. Main Street</u>

The Council received information from Scott Perkins and Tim McGovern, a representative of the Moore's, requesting a 10-year tax abatement. Motion was made by Steve Hartsock to grant a 10-year tax abatement, seconded by Dick Burrows. Motion passed 4-0.

b) Ordinance No. 26-2009 – Amend the Danville Non-Reverting Fund Ordinance

Clerk Treasurer Roberts requested this amendment so that the revenue received from the rental of the facilities at the New Town Hall is directed into the non-reverting fund. Motion was made by Mike Neilson to amend this ordinance, seconded by Steve Hartsock. Motion passed 4-0.

<u>STAFF</u>

Planning Department – Laura Parker has no report.

Fire Department - Mark Morgan - No report

Public Works – Rob Roberts – Cleaning up old Town Hall should be completed on 12/22/2009. Worked late into the night Friday night on phones at New Town Hall – phones are not currently receiving incoming calls; however, email is working. We are waiting for AT & T to port over the rest of the numbers.

Council members asked Supt. Roberts about the marking Wayne Street a 2-way street north from Main Street. It is be evaluated again and an amendment to the Traffic Ordinance will have to be made to reverse this back and make it a two way street again.

Water – Jim Russell – No report

Waste Water – Bill Lush – Nothing to report

Police – Keith Gill – Metropolitan Board of Police Commissioners met and ga val for the hiring of 3 additional part-time officers. They will be sworn in on December 30, 2009, at 9:30 a.m. by Clerk-Treasurer Roberts.

Park – No representative in attendance; therefore, no report

COMMENTS

Clerk-Treasurer Roberts

Thanked the Council for the new Town Hall Facility. DPW, Water and Parks Dept. did an awesome job assisting in the move. Opening day went very smooth. Have received very positive comments from the public.

Mike Neilson

Commented that the New Town Hall is another "gem" in Danville – it shows growth and development in Danville. Merry Christmas.

Dick Burrows

Wished that Gary Eakin could have been here for the inaugural Town Council meeting at the New Town Hall. He stated that he had not attended a meeting in this building since 1954.

Steve Hartsock

Looking back, this has been a great year and seems like it went by really quick. The New Town Hall gives the citizens of Danville another thing to take pride in.

Marcia Lynch

Reiterated positive comments made by other Council members regarding the New Town Hall and the move. She is sorry that Town Manager Eakin and Council President Martin could not be in attendance for this first Town Council Meeting in the New Town Hall. Merry Christmas!

- V. <u>CLAIM DOCKET:</u> Mike Neilson made a motion to approve claim docket, seconded by Dick Burrows. Motion passed 4-0.
- VI. <u>ADJOURNED</u>: Vice-President of the Council, Marcia Lynch, adjourned the meeting at approximately 8:10 p.m.

Minutes submitted by:	Approv :
Amy J. Roberts, Clerk-Treasurer	Jeff Martin, President